The story so far.

January 14, 2010

My name is Chris, and today while waiting in a doctor’s office (which I seem to be doing a lot of lately), I decided it might be interesting to start a blog.  I have a brain condition called hydrocephalus, while not entirely uncommon (2% of the world’s population is afflicted) it is extremely rare in people my age.

As it stands I’m a pretty sick guy.

I’ve already had one brain surgery, which was to install a brain shunt. Unfortunately the surgery was a failure, my shunt was placed correctly but hasnt helped at all. I will be going in again shortly (known as a revision) to attempt  to fix the shunt or at least figure out why it isnt helping.

You probably aren’t very familiar with hydrocephalus unless you or a loved one suffers from it, I know I had never even heard of it until I was diagnosed. In essence you brain cavities fill with too much spinal fluid; crushing your brain against your skull. Symptoms can be anything from nausea and dizziness, to brain stem compression and falling into a coma. I suffer from a complete lack of balance, the inability to keep down food for more than an hour, headaches and bouts of extreme confusion know affectionately as “brain fog”.

I don’t want to set any lofty goals for this blog. I mainly want to use it to keep track of whats going on and to have a place to vent my feelings. But if someone stumbles across this page and learns something or is amused, it can only be for the better. So I’ll try to update a few times a week about my treatments and what im going through and whatnot.

One Response to “The story so far.”

  1. Drew said

    Loss of balance? Now I know why you flew off that machine during Afronova!

Leave a Reply

