Trendy causes are fun.

January 15, 2010

So today I received a package from my mom, in it were several hydrocephalus awareness bracelets. I’m all for bringing attention to the swollen brains of the world, but I can’t help but feel that these are a little inappropriate.

It reads: ~Hydrocephalus~ Catch the Wave of Awareness~

Now, of all the people in the world, people with hydrocephalus should not be catching waves. We cant surf, we very rarely have any balance at all. And why white? Our arch-enemy, the spinal fluid that inflates our brain is white. Maybe thats the wave? The spinal fluid that is released in surgery?

3 Responses to “Trendy causes are fun.”

  1. Tina said

    Never really thought of it that way!

    The slogan doesn’t bother me too much… I wish they had some other styles though. Another hydro organization makes these crystal ones, very pretty. But a little pricier.

  2. Mom said

    ya… the slogan sort of struck me as odd too. but, I wanted something for myself and everyone else to wear. I love you so much my non-surfing, wave-catching son!

  3. Sam said

    The one I have is blue. Even though the slogan is weird. Having Hydrocephalus shouldn’t stop you from doing anything. So don’t let it.

Leave a Reply

