All in a days work.

January 24, 2010

One of least favorite parts about being sick is how much work I miss. In the past year or so I’ve gone from working full-time to being scheduled three days a week, and those shifts are usually six hours or less. I don’t blame my boss for cutting my hours at all, I can’t really work alone and if he schedules me more I call in sick. I’m actually very grateful that he’s kept me on through all this. It would certainly be easier on him to just cut me loose.

Kids are funny, the other day at work I had a small boy ask me if I was angry. I was in fact irritated that he had bought three five dollar games on three separate transactions ( a major pet peeve for anyone who’s sales are tracked and graded), but I didn’t think I was showing it, so I told him no and asked why. Apparently he thought I was mad because my “vein” was sticking out, and whenever his daddy got mad his veins stuck out. The boy was referring to my shunt tube that runs down my neck. I had to explain to him what it was, he thought it was cool.

Artists rendition

2 Responses to “All in a days work.”

  1. hydroboysmom said

    lol… vein poppin’ angry!

  2. Hannah said

    That’s pretty amusing actually, Chris. I’ll never forget one time going to Urgent Care for a cold or something, anyway, the doc was checking my lymphs and I looked at her face and her eyes got HUGE and she kept feeling my neck and I start giggling really hard. She looked all freaked and said, “Does that HURT?” I was laughing, but mum explained that it was my shunt tubing. So much for reading the chart!

    Do you think you’d have time to get coffee or something this week? I know the surgery is coming up, I thought maybe I could help keep your mind off it.

    Oh, and I can’t remember if I gave you this link. It’s something called a Caringbridge website, you can update it and that way everyone knows to look there if you’re ill, rather than emailing ten million people. Here’s my link: http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/hannahrose

    Call me any time Chris. Seriously, I mean that. I might be in the same boat as you soon enough (revisions are on my mind…bleh) and then we can TOTALLY compare hair styles when we’re nice and bald.

Leave a Reply

