Well crap.

January 25, 2010

Hey baby, whats your sign?

Cancer.

Your a cancer?

No, but I have cancer.

Well… maybe.

I got a call from my doctor this morning, they want to push back my surgery to thursday. Apparently some of the pre-surgery blood work came back wonky so they retested it to see if it was wrong. Its not. Apparently my white blood cell count is super screwed up so they are sending me to an oncologist aka cancer doctor.

I’ll be honest, this scares the piss out of me. I’ve always had a blasé attitude about dying, but its still one of those things you always assume are far off. Cancer is like that too, it’s always something your friend’s uncle gets, not something you yourself get.

On the plus side my Mom will be in town later today from Nebraska, and my Dad is driving in as well.

The only Google image result for cancer that isn't terrifying.

2 Responses to “Well crap.”

  1. Mo said

    Hi Chris, We haven’t met yet but I know u know who I am via your mom! Your mom talks so frequent of u that I feel like we have met> I just spent one of the best weekends ever with your mom on the Oregon Coast. I’m sure she has shared with you our mutual ties to Oregon! Well just wanted to let you know that you are in my thoughts and prayers daily. You have gone through so much at your young age and are a strong young man. You must get this from your mom as she is one of the strongest people I know. My family in Oregon is praying for u as well. You be tough and stay positive….one day at a time. I look forward to following your blog.
    Tae care,
    Mo in Alaska!

  2. Hannah Flaherty said

    Chris,

    I’m so sorry to hear that you’re having to go through yet ANOTHER scary thing. That…sucks. There’s no other way to say it.

    Plus side…give me a minute…Ah! You would have never found that entertaining and slightly disturbing picture if this hadn’t come up. I mean, they’re “new!” and so bouncy and happy.

    …in a creepy way.

    Okay, so that attempt failed.

    I’ve been through the cancer scare before (and I AM a Cancer baby. Born in July.) and it’s no fun. But there COULD be a million reasons why your blood-work is off. Try to keep that in mind. Hopefully the doctors are just being extra cautious.

    Oh, by the way: do you like to read? I’m a TOTAL book nerd (sci-fi is my main obsession. I read it, watch it and write it.) so I was thinking that I could give you some reccomendations since you’re going to be held-up a bit after surgery while you heal. I know that you have headaches, and that is always my biggest gripe. It’s so hard to read when you’re head is killing you. Anyway, if you don’t feel like you could stand reading but still need something to do there’s always audiobooks. (I borrow them from the library and burn myself a copy. Bad me, I know.) But in any case, I would be more than happy to give book suggestions, and I’m always going to the library so I could pick things up for you if you want. Just thought I’d offer, there’s nothing much worse than being in the hospital in pain AND bored.

    Stay strong, Chris. I hope I get to meet you soon, you seem like an amazingly strong and wise person. I could always use a friend, especially one that seems as sweet as you. I hope I get to meet your fiance too!

Leave a Reply

