Busy Busy

February 6, 2010

Whoo, a lot of stuff has been happening lately.

I visited Dr.H today and he removed the staples from my head. unfortunately I’ve been getting sick and dizzy the past few days. Dr.H thinks that it’s just me adjusting to my new shunt, but we’re both worried as this is exactly what happened last time when the shunt became blocked. So he ordered a shuntogram (my spell checker says that shuntogram is not a real word and recommends shitogram… lul) for me sometime next week.

A shuntogram should not be confused with a valogram. It involves far less singing and far more injecting traceable radioactive dye into my head. This will show whether the shunt is properly draining.While I’m typically not a fan of large needles being stabbed into my head, I find that I prefer this to the alternative.

Not related

Dr.H says that if the tube is blocked it may be due to some kind of gland in my system thats responsible for repairs, apparently its the mobile mechanic of the body. It may be latching onto the tube thinking its some kind of damage and clogging it in the process. If this is the case, he’ll have to remove the tube from my body and place it somewhere else. Apparently the tube is designed to come out easily, which is good. It also has the badass name of bioglide-tube… or something.

2 Responses to “Busy Busy”

  1. hydroboysmom said

    let me know when they get your shuntogram scheduled. Could the Sjorgen’s have anything to do with it? It does have to do with tears, dry mouth and glands…. hmmm. Miss you! Love and hugs. Mom

    PS… just found Des’ glass case in my bag! Will mail it.

  2. Hannah Flaherty said

    Shuntograms are not exactly pleasant, but they’re also not the worst thing. Then needle stings, it might be a little more uncomfortable for you because your scar is fairly new. They will inject the dye, which should really feel like anything. Then you lie down under a really WEIRD machine. It’s like an X-ray screen but it’s above you, and it slowly lowers (this part is, in my opinion, the creepiest part of a shuntogram) until it’s like RIGHT above your nose. So take some deep breaths, maybe close your eyes if you get claustophobic. Other than the thing on your face you’re not enclosed like a CT or MRI. Eventually the scanner moves sllllooooowwwwllllyyyyy down your body until it gets down to your belly where the tubing ends.

    Ask to see the scan, you can see the radioactive dots go all the way down the tract. It’s kind of cool in that sense.

    On a scale of one to ten, it’s not bad.

Leave a Reply

