Nightmare fuel

February 6, 2010

I recently saw a rheumatologist. It sucked. Not only did the appointment take around three hours, but he ordered a series of blood tests that were super expensive (around $92). He also gave me a test that checks the wetness of my eyes, which if you have never had the pleasure of experiencing yourself, involves placing bits of paper on your eyeballs and asking you to wait.

Not a fun time.

For those of you who are curious, my eyeball moisture level was 3, normal is apparently something like 14. So I get to buy eye drops today.

The Rhuematologist thinks I have something called Sjögren’s syndrome. Which is good for two reasons:

1. Its not horrific and life threatening.

2. It has an umlaut, and those are hardcore.

Sjögren’s is defined as followed:

Sjögren’s (SHOW-grins) syndrome is a disorder of your immune system often defined by its two most common symptoms — dry eyes and a dry mouth.

Sjögren’s syndrome often accompanies other autoimmune disorders, such as rheumatoid arthritis and lupus. In Sjögren’s syndrome, the mucous membranes and moisture-secreting glands of your eyes and mouth are usually affected first — resulting in decreased production of tears and saliva.

If I get lupus, can I carry around a cane and be mean to people with my brilliance?

4 Responses to “Nightmare fuel”

  1. hydroboysmom said

    LOL… you ARE brilliant, but NO cane!

    That pic of you with the papers in your eyes… omg, my toes curled up!!!!!!! aggghhhhh! fun stuff buddy.
    What do they do for an encore… bamboo shoots under the nails???

    what is umlaut? The hardcore thing…

    Mom

  2. Grammy said

    You poor thing. You get to be mean to anyone you want, and have your own show….maybe an Emmy.

  3. Hannah Flaherty said

    I did the eyeball thing, freaked me out. I did the opposite of you though, tears were FLOODING down my face. On a day that I had just happened to wear mascara too. Go figure.

    I have a cane. I kind of like it, I have not hit any strangers yet but I have whacked my mum once or twice.

  4. I have sjogrens and also I have raynauds which also often accompanies lupus. Not fun stuff but bearable! I wish you the best of luck.

Leave a Reply

