The Welfare

February 8, 2010

About a month ago I applied for SSD. I got a call today informing me that I didn’t fill out the online form correctly. So I had a nice chat with a lady and got everything squared away. She also told me that I should apply for SSI as well so I did. She says all that has to be done now is they will contact all my doctors and make a ruling based on what they say.

I can honestly say that I’m not very hopeful. Even though I meet the criteria for disability all my illnesses are ‘temporary’. The surgeries are supposed to fix my illnesses and put me right as rain. This has not happened so far, but I fear that all the people will hear is “He should be better in two weeks.”

I was told that if I am approved that I will be getting about $950 a month. While this is not a huge sum of money it would be invaluable doing things like say, paying bills. I haven’t paid rent in about three months, its all been footed by my fiancée. I’ve been able to work enough off and on to keep the electricity turned on, but with the latest surgery I can’t even pay that. My credit card companies are  also pissed at me. I haven’t paid them in about two months. They call me 6+ times a day each… I filled out a claim through their insurance departments but they haven’t gotten back to me. So much for my good credit.

I’ll be honest, I know SSI/SSD is in place for people going through exactly what I am, but I still feel like a leech applying for it. I know it’s a great system and that it gets abused, and I don’t want to be one of those people. I just feel like “Couldn’t you really work if you wanted to Chris?”  I also feel that there is a huge stigma attached to accepting help like this, its like when your in grade school and you see the kids taking clothes from the donation box, or applying for free lunch. Sure thats what it there for, but they were made fun of for it none the less.

Case in point, this was on the first page of google image search of welfare.

2 Responses to “The Welfare”

  1. hydroboysmom said

    yes,you are right, a lot of people abuse the system and there is definitely a societal stigma attached. However, you are also correct when you say this is what it’s for and your situation is exactly why it’s there. Hold your head up high, you have always paid your taxes and now you (hopefully) will get to benefit from having done so.

    Also remember (this was a very freeing thing for me when i heard it a few months ago) that what other people think of you is none of your business. You just do what you know is right and be true to your heart.

    We all love you so much Chris, and those that are important in your life will always love and support you no matter what you are facing in life.

    Mom

  2. Grammy said

    I think a lot of people feel just like you do. Nevertheless, your debts need to be paid and when you are hale and hearty, you could stop the SSwhatever.

    Insgtead of feeling glum about it, go to Amazon and pick out a book…..then send me the link and I will get it for you. Love you Chris……..you have managed adulthood beautifully.

Leave a Reply

