Hindsight.

February 20, 2010

The past 48 hours have been a mixed bag for me. It all started by going to a birthday party for one of my friends.

I hadn’t been feeling totally stable that day, but it was her 21st birthday, it only happens once right? I had to go. We all met up at a bar called Timbers. Now, I’m not one to normally drink. I rarely do so, and usually limit my self to one or two cause’ I’m a lightweight. But Timbers features something called ‘Thirsty Thursday’ where ANY drink is $2.50.

Couple cheap drinks with a festive atmosphere and my inability to hold my liquor, needless to say, I got smashed fairly quick. I don’t know if it has something to do with my Hydro or something to do with the fact that I’ve lost 60lbs since I last drank, but the next morning was hell.

But my adventures weren’t over yet. I had foolishly promised a friend i would help him set-up his new computer yesterday so I had to peel myself out of bed at the crack of noon to assist him. Luckily it was a simple job, only really requiring me to plug stuff in, the only thing I think he couldn’t have done himself is set-up the built-in TV tuner and download legally purchase some software.

Last but not least I did something I ought not have yet again. I decided that I had recovered enough to drive and so went out for after dinner blizzards for the missus and I while she cleaned our bathroom (Hah! Take that modern women’s rights movement)!

25 flavours? Worth risking life and limb.

While I didn’t wrap the car around a tree there were a few close calls. I was surprised that my main issue wasn’t that I was getting dizzy by moving my head, but that I couldn’t see the road. Every now and then my vision gets blobbed out by floating purple clouds, and they decided to visit while I was out and about.

Oh well, alls well that ends well.

3 Responses to “Hindsight.”

  1. Grammy said

    Couldn’t the doctors give you anti-upchuck pills? How long till you know what is going on? Do I need to come make a scene in the doctor’s office?

  2. Hannah Flaherty said

    Uggh, sounds like a nasty experience, Chris. I totally understand about crippling dizziness though, and my eyes are…well, unpredictable is the polite way to put it, I suppose.

    Come visit me sometime soon! I am car-less and…well, mostly function-less as well but I can make a mean chocolate chip cookie. I am not above bribery for friendship.

  3. Megan said

    Drinking can effect the shunt because of the effet alcohol has on the brain

Leave a Reply

