Leaving on a jet plane.

March 27, 2010

Well today I ship out for Nebraska.

I don’t have many goals for my visit but the ones I do have are important to me.

1.I want to become stronger and feel better.

I think this will not be easy, but very obtainable. I have all kinds of physical therapy/occupational therapy lined up as well as some massage thrown in for good measure.

2.I want to gain weight.

This again will not be pleasant, but is doable. For the past eight or so months I have failed to keep more than one meal a day down and my body has essentially trained itself to be bulimic. They have me on Reglan, an anti-nausea/stomach suppression pill. I hate it. It makes me groggy and tired and they want me to take it three times a day. I’m hoping to completely kick it in a few weeks.

Other than the pills I will be staying with my Mom. We all know how Moms are. We met with a nutritionist while I was staying in the hospital and have established a game plan. I’m to eat six meals a day, essentially every two hours. I don’t have any hard and fast weight goals, but I’d like to be at least 200 pounds. I’m 165 now, so that shouldn’t be too hard to get to in a few months. I’m thinking of adding a “Current Weight” widget somewhere on the page.

3. I want to get to know my little brother.

Not health related but important none the less. I moved out at seventeen, he was only five. I’ve done things like talked to him on the phone and sent him gifts on major occasions. But I feel like I’ve spent very little actual time him. Staying a month him is the perfect opportunity to really bond with him.

My broheim.

The flight isn’t short, but is not terribly long either. All should be said and done by around seven this evening.

2 Responses to “Leaving on a jet plane.”

  1. Hannah Flaherty said

    You’re a brave person, Chris. I think that this will be a good thing for you, a month to focus completely on healing doesn’t sound too bad. Of course it sucks to have to be away from home, but it sounds like the weather might be nicer where you are than here! Go figure.

    If you’re having a really hard time I reccomend trying to live on the BRAT diet. Bananas, Rice, Apple sauce and Toast. But also, one thing that’s really good for people with gastric dismobility like me and you, is soft-serve ice cream. Seriously, my GI doc said that on really bad days that soft serve is probably the best thing to put in my belly. It has fast and protein, sugar and it all goes down pretty easy.

    A doctor the prescribes ice cream…how cool is THAT?

    I hope all in well. Give you mum a hug from me, and tell her to give YOU one from me as well. Feel better, bud.

    -Hannah

  2. waistline32 said

    Stay cool, big bro!

Leave a Reply

