Shazbot

April 2, 2010

Well crap.

My double vision hasn’t gone away and I’ve started to feel shunty. I called Dr.Hadden’s office and they recommend that I see a neurosurgeon here in Nebraska.

This presents a problem in that I’m still entirely uninsured and VIM won’t cover me here. I called Dr.Poocioni, the neurosurgeon who took care of my little brother’s spinal surgeries. He is having me make an appointment with his office next week as well as an appointment with an optometrist. My Mom has repeatedly said that she will cover the bills and that it’s her job as a mom, blah blah blah. While this may be true, it doesn’t prevent crippling guilt over the fact that these appointments alone will probably cost around $2000.

Not exactly...

3 Responses to “Shazbot”

  1. Jayson! said

    My Mom covered my medical bills too once upon a time…and she sat me down and talked about life’s necessities and how to get over my pride, and I reluctantly accepted the help.

    But that experience gave me the motivation to grow up all the way (or start the journey), so that I could take care of myself from then on.

    And she agreed to let me fight my own battles unless it was a matter of life and death.

    And then she bought me a car…..damnit Mom!

  2. Hannah Flaherty said

    Your eyes do the same thing as mine! Sometimes I feel like Alice from Alice and Wonderland, things keep growing or shrinking and doubling and just being trippy…but not in a fun trip sort of way…

    Chris, I know you’ve heard this a million times but you need to stop guilt-tripping yourself. Did you ASK to get adult onset hydro and end up with an expensive head and in need of neurosurgery…NO. It’s hard to ask for help, it gets harder with age…but when I start getting down on myself I try to remember that I have PLENTY of friends living off their parents…and they’re not sick! They’re healthy as horses (still don’t understand that saying…horses get sick too…) and really have no excuse. So…at least we’re not THOSE people.

    Plus I always keep this in mind: when I’m a famous author with a fat wallet and a cushy bank account, I will pay my parents back triple!

    • Jayson said

      I really like what you said Hannah.
      You made some awesome points!

      Chris, you have good friends.
      She’s speaking a lot of truth here.

      Testify girl! Testify!

Leave a Reply

