A Cautionary Tale

August 5, 2010

I am a child of the information age. I’ve grown up knowing that if I have a question, my dear friend the internet is there to give me answers (and sometimes other things). Where some children on the playground argued about what superheros could win in a fight, my friends and I argued about what search engine rocked the hardest.

Webcrawler represent!

Things haven’t changed much. I’m still the kind of guy where if there is a fact that comes into question during an argument, BAM out comes the cell phone to ask Saint Google. So as per my modus operandi when my doctor said “You may have a pituitary tumor.” I wanted to inform myself on the subject as much as possible.

This was a mistake.

While learning online is awesome for some things, learning about lethal diseases you potentialy have is not. The sheer amount of terrible things that can result of having a pituitary tumor sent me into a  out of control fear-spiral that ended with me rolling up into a little ball on the couch and incessantly blubbering.

While I’ve since regained my composure, it is far too easy to see the worst possible outcome. This is why I think things like WebMD are evil. It can turn a cough and bellyache into something terrible like Diverticulitis. I’m not saying that some light googleing on your condition is ill-advised, just that you should remember to take everything with a grain of salt.

4 Responses to “A Cautionary Tale”

  1. hydroboysmom said

    BRAVO!

  2. Hannah Flaherty said

    Yeah, you can easily make yourself CRAZY with fear, just by doing some research. Which is why I don’t really reccomend it. Or if you do, try to stick to websites from hospitals or something that will just give you the facts, no worst-case senario stories.

    (Of course, I’m a walking worst-case…except I don’t walk that well, too dizzy. Sitting. Possibly lying down. You get my point.)

    Keep in mind that the people on those support websites are there for a reason: they still need support. The majority of the time, when someone gets healthy, they don’t stick around the depressing “omigawd I’m sick” forums. The real “sickos” though will be there still because we’re still looking for help.

    When are you seeing the doctors to follow up on this possible tumor situation? Please, if you need a ride, a shoulder to cry on (in a manly way, of course) or even just want to sit around watching TV and eating cookies I’m your girl! Call anytime. Seriously, I mean that.

    That goat kind of gives me the creeps, by the way…

  3. My MRI is this Monday, results tuesday. I think I’m all cried out at this point, but we should still hang out sometime this weekend!

  4. Hannah Flaherty said

    Chris,

    Sorry I didn’t see this till now. My computer neglected to send me the email saying you replied. Bad computer.

    Anyway, I know it’s Sunday already, but I would definitely enjoy hanging out. I’ll try texting you later in the day, see if you’re up and moving and feeling like doing something. I woke up disturbingly early, so I kind of have to decide if I’m awake yet either…like, my eyes are open but there’s nothing behind them, if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

